Applauding Vegetarianism

Vegetarians and vegans are in the minority where I live, in the good ol’ South. Our diet includes a ton of meat: sausages, gumbo, jambalaya, and of course, seafood. I love to eat all of these things, I love food in general. So why in the world would I like vegetarians/vegans?

The simplest answer would be: they’re different. Vegetarianism just isn’t a part of the Southern culture, I don’t personally know any vegetarians. Our vegetarian Wal-Mart aisle in my town is one freezer with Boca burgers and Morning Star products. It’s quite puny, because no one ever buys those products, except for me. I love a Boca burger every now and then, though I recently turned the box over to find that the preserves they put in them are not too healthy for us consumers. Anyways, that’s a different post all together. My point is that vegetarians and vegans are a taste of culture. I feel like my culture is a very straightforward, one-way highway. I find we don’t often accommodate to those who do not follow the other 90 percent of the population. And I apologize for that vegetarians and vegans: you deserve acknowledgement too.

A vegetarian or vegan’s diet more often than not contains mostly, you guessed it, vegetables. This is good though, I mean you still need protein, but eating produce is good. Or at least better than eating everything out of a box. While there are vegetarian processed foods -I saw that some Girl Scout Cookies are vegan!- vegetarians tend to cook for themselves to avoid any animal by-products (ahem, gelatin). Props to you vegetarians and vegans who eat cleanly and healthy, I need to jump on the wagon too! I also read that the trick to being a vegetarian/vegan is eating large volumes of low-calorie vegetables consume nutrients and feel full. I’m down with eating more! You vegetarians and vegans also care about something I do too, animals.

I love animals, I always have. I used to want to be a veterinarian, but then decided that I wouldn’t be able to put animals down. I am the person that has to change the channel every time that ASPCA commercial comes on, or I might cry and go broke spending money on them. I love that vegetarians and vegans are against slaughtering and abusing any animal, and therefore refuse to consume any product that implements this. I refuse to eat buffalo, because they went nearly extinct in the 1800’s. I know, I know, that was a long while ago, but their population is still fragile. According to this website, the US government wanted to exterminate bison, rumored to rid of the American Indian population. That is not a good idea: first, exterminating bison would throw its surrounding ecosystem topsy-turvy and second, wasn’t it the Indians who helped our ancestors in Plymouth at first? And that would contradict the concept of the “American Melting Pot”.  My dear friend made the point that the buffalo will still be slaughtered whether I eat it or not. She’s not wrong, but that is not my point. My point is that someone may find this information interesting, and join me in the anti-eating of bison. And the idea would eventually spread, people would stop eating bison, and we would let the buffalo population flourish. Now that’s my bit on animal protection.

Overall, I will admit that vegetarianism is something to work at. Vegetarianism and especially veganism is more than just a certain diet, it is a lifestyle. I attempted to become a vegetarian at the young age of 12, only to fail within a week. Maybe one day when I live on my own, I will transition into the vegetarian world. But, I’ve got to give credit to all the vegetarians and vegans out there, you all are great and I genuinely appreciate what you stand for, and I wish I had the guts to do so too. Vegetarians and vegans, I give you a round of applause!

Comment questions: How long have you been a vegetarian/vegan? What is your main reason for it? Or why don’t you like vegetarianism/veganism?

One thought on “Applauding Vegetarianism

  1. I love this post! I see it from both sides as well. I personally am somewhere in the middle ground between vegetarianism and… well, non-vegetarianism, but I have to admit, it’s not because of choice–as a matter of fact, there have been sooo many times where I desperately wanted to LIKE eating meat. For some reason, I just don’t like it. It’s been that way since I was very young and it doesn’t really make sense considering my entire family are meat-eaters, but still! Lol.

    Also, what you said about it being somewhat of a one-way street–I feel like that all the time. When I go out to eat I have to awkwardly request to leave out the steak/chicken/etc, and they almost always think I’m joking because it’s typically the focal point of the dish. Luckily now that I live on my own I can scour the city for stores that carry vegetarian foods, but I still feel silly because there’s always this pressure that I’m not normal for hating meat 😦

    I totally agree with you though, and I also think vegetarianism and veganism is great 🙂 maybe one day I too will commit and complete the transition!

    Like

Leave a Reply

