I ain’t got time for that!

Have you ever been so busy that you don’t have time to take a breath? When you feel so overwhelmed that you want to cry but you don’t even have time to do that? I feel like this at some point at least once a week. I’ve even named it “The Breaking Point” because I am so stressed leading up to it, then break down, then I get over it. Why do I have to break down every time before I realized that my meltdown did nothing but waste more time, which is the reason I broke down in the first place. It’s a never-ending cycle. I need to stop this habit and avoid getting too stressed about nothing. It’s only a matter of time when you stress out so much that you need a release. It’s like in the song “Shattered”: “How many times can I break til I shatter?”

Stress is definitely not healthy when it comes in abundances. There’s no way one can completely eliminate stress, because it’s human to be a little stressed. We all have goals, expectations, and motivations to live up to don’t we? But I have a serious problem, my whole life revolves around getting everything done and being the best at it. I lose sleep over things other people wouldn’t bat an eye at. It’s ridiculous and sad actually because it gets to rule my life instead of me. I am a perfectionist, therefore I want to do everything possible and also do it 110%, and it bothers me if I don’t.

My problem is that I worry too much. Worrying too much is not good for you as well as not worrying enough. I know, now you’re wondering “Well, what amount is just right?” I say that if it doesn’t affect your daily life to the point where you are afraid of failing at anything like me, or on the other hand, you are failing at everything but don’t really care, you’re fine. If your stress does affect you a little more than “I’ll get it done, I plan to do it tomorrow,” then it is concerning. My main point is that stressing out about everything or nothing at all hurts you more than it helps. And we, in our busy lives within a fast-paced society, don’t have time for any setbacks!

So, here’s to taking a break every now and then to keep your sanity. It’ll help you more in the long run to be more productive.

Leave a Reply

